Don’t be fooled by dummy iPad Mini reviews

iPad Mini news was abuzz today on the tech blogs. No, a pre-release model did not find its way into the hands of a lucky reviewer, but instead the hopes and dreams of iFans may have been crushed a little bit. After a number of supposed iPad Mini photographs found their way into tech blog circulation, many pundits felt confident enough to proclaim an October release date for the device that would be Apple’s answer to the recent flood of 7″ Android tablets. When the iPad Mini wasn’t brought out during the iPhone 5 keynote, many became worried that it would never be released. Some still held on to the possibility of an October, pre-holiday surprise (this seems most likely). When very detailed pictures began to surface a couple of days ago, confidence that the iPad Mini was real began to spread. Unfortunately for us, it was all a good ‘ole fashioned Chinese copy hoax. Thanks to The Digital Reader’s Nate Hoffelder for giving me the heads up with his prompt post (as an avid eReader and tech enthusiast, The Digital Reader is one of my favorite blogs; I highly recommend following it). That’s right: someone in China manufactured some fake iPad Minis that are nothing more than metal parts and knock-off Apple logos. The design and components are based on credible rumors of what the iPad Mini could hold in store for consumers, but we won’t know for sure until the real McCoy hits iStores everywhere (if it ever will).

So, do you want to buy one of these fake Minis? Head over to my favorite auction site, eBay, and $30.00 USD will get you one. As some have suggested, it might be a good conversation piece. You could definitely freak out a few of your Apple obsessed friends by strolling into their homes with this in your hands. For $30.00, is it worth it?

Don’t freak out and jump out of your computer chair if you see a bogus review pop up on YouTube (like the one above). This is a techies version of an April Fool’s joke.

This entry was posted in Apple and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t be fooled by dummy iPad Mini reviews

  1. cheri says:

    I believe there is an iPad Mini coming out in October. The pictures may be fake, but I think they really are making one. I have been looking for a smaller tablet that I can carry around with me, and make it easier to hold in my purse. I have been hearing about the iPad Mini for weeks from a co-worker at Dish and now I can’t stop looking for whatever information I can find on it. I really just want it to be able to take it with me out of the house, especially with all the new shows and new fall season coming up shortly, to watch live TV on the Dish Remote Access app so I don’t have to miss any of the shows this season. I know the price will probably be more than the Nexus 7 or Kindle Fire, but I know it will be well worth it.

    • Andrew says:

      Agreed, Cheri. An iPad Mini is coming down the line, but the October release date was made more probable based on pictures of this fake device. Now that we know they aren’t real, few people can speculate when Apple will bring the iPad Mini out. It all depends on how threatened Apple really feels by the influx of 7″ Andriod tablets during this coming holiday season. As Jeff Bezos stated in his recent press conference, the most popular price for a tablet is still $499. Apple has a huge chunk of tablet market share, and I don’t think that will change despite new Kindle Fires and the Nexus 7. But Apple could lose sales by not releasing a competing device by the end of fall.

      I have a Nexus 7, and I have owned iPads in the past. The regular iPad is a bit large, and I really like the size and portability of my Nexus 7. An iPad Mini would definitely fill a need, and it would give Apple some new buzz around the holidays. Thanks for checking out my blog.

Leave a Reply

