Kindle Fire HD 8.9″ delayed until December 3rd

Well, I had to remove my countdown clock to the Kindle Fire HD 8.9″ release. Today was the expected ship date, but, “due to popular demand,” the device will not be going out to customers until December 3rd.

Like the Kindle Paperwhite before it, Amazon seems to be having some difficulty keeping their new devices in stock. Perhaps they are right to under estimate demand from a business perspective, but the near-Christmas delay of all but one of the new devices can’t be instilling confidence in Amazon’s customers.

As the Kindle Paperwhite date gets moved further and further back, I am really starting to wonder if they will be wrapped up and under Christmas trees in time for the big day. It would be a major blunder if they couldn’t fill those pre-orders in time.

A few weeks ago, I listed my Kindle Paperwhite on eBay and sold it for $183.99. The bidder ended up backing out of the deal, but maybe I should re-list it. A Kindle Paperwhite sold for $205.50 at auction last week. I have really started to enjoy reading in the dark with the glow light though, so I think I will keep it around. I wasn’t sure that I would enjoy this feature at first, but I think that E Ink text looks better with a light behind it now.

If you are thinking of getting a Kindle Paperwhite or any of the Kindle HDs for Christmas, you should really place your order now and hope for the best. Who knows what the stock will look like in January and February.

This entry was posted in Amazon Kindle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

